Brag Meeting 17th September 2015

When: Thursday 17th September 2015, 13:00-14:00.

Location: GP-Y801.

Included in meeting:

For the next meeting, Thursday 17th Sept, we will be doing Jessie’s “speed-dating” discussion idea.  This will be a break from the video presentation tutorials, but hopefully stimulate new ideas for future video presentations.  To make this meeting happen, everyone needs to come prepared with a list of ideas and/or general problems they are currently facing.  We will then split up into pairs and each person take turns to explain one of their ideas/problems to the other person, and then discuss/brainstorm/etc.  If you are stuck for ideas of what to discuss, here is an example list of ideas/problems to get you started:

  1. I have an idea for a new R package (related to your current work) – what do you think?
  2. ggplot is great, but I want to create some dynamic data visualisations – do you know if this is possible?
  3. I am planning to estimate some Bayesian models using MCMC.  What software do you use/recommend?
  4. I want to use the High Performance Computers to do… Have you used them before?  Are there any guides?
  5. Recently I read this paper which suggested …
  6. I’ve almost finished writing a paper, but not sure where to publish.  Do you have any suggestions for journals?  My topic is…
  7. I am creating a poster for a poster presentation at an upcoming conference.  I plan to present my results by …

Possible feedback you might get from your partner:

  1. Actually, there is an existing R package which kind of does that, but …
  2. Yes! Have a look at the shiny R package…
  3. Personally, I use JAGS because…
  4. Yes, I have.  There is a wiki page which explains the basics…
  5. In my experience, I have found …
  6. You could try submitting to…
  7. Good idea, but you could consider …

Obviously your partner may not be able to help with every question you have, so it is important to have a list of several ideas/problems.  After about 5-10 minutes, everyone will swap partners and repeat the process (using another idea/problem on your list, or the same one to get multiple perspectives).

 

Leave a Reply

